top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTracy Sherlock

Pandemic Diary: When COVID gets personal


If there was ever a reason to reactivate Pandemic Diary, this must be it. I have COVID-19.

I tested positive on Saturday. I have absolutely no idea how I got it and I have been very, very careful throughout the pandemic. I am double vaxxed, but my six months is up Dec. 23.

In British Columbia, Canada, where I live, people my age are not eligible for booster shots and won’t be until sometime in the New Year.

Unfortunately, I spread COVID-19 to two of my friends, most likely by driving in a car together. That has been the very worst part of this, at least so far. As a cautionary tale, I urge all of you to wear masks in cars and open the windows, even if it’s freezing or raining.

We are all double vaxxed. One of my friends who got it from me has even had COVID-19 before, about a year ago. They both got symptoms nearly exactly 48 hours after we were together, which leads me to believe we have the Omicron variant, which apparently has a shorter incubation period.

I did ask public health if they knew which variant I have and they said no. I’m not sure if B.C. is still sequencing every positive case or not, but the process takes time and I don’t know that people are ever told which variant they have.

Fortunately, my symptoms are mild — it feels like a cold, at least so far. I would not have even been tested, except that I was supposed to be going to visit friends and on a bit of a vacation to Vancouver Island the day after I woke up with cold symptoms, so I thought I would be extra cautious and get a test.

I was shocked when it was positive.

There are probably many people walking around with COVID who just think they have a mild cold or a bit of a headache. Think twice before visiting with anyone else if you’re even feeling the slightest bit off.

Here’s how my COVID-19 came on. I was at an in-person meeting on Thursday. I drove there with a friend, who is one of the other people who I infected. I felt 100-per-cent fine, no symptoms whatsoever.

We all wore masks at the meeting. I was a bit wary because of being in person, so I wore an N95 mask that day for the first time and I had it on for about two hours. I didn't wear the mask in the car.

After the meeting, some of us went out for lunch. I still felt fine. That evening, I saw a different friend for dinner. I picked her up at her house and off we went, again unmasked. This is the other friend who got COVID from me. At some point during the evening, I noticed that my throat was dry and I had a bit of a headache; I thought it was from wearing the N95 mask that I wasn’t used to. I didn’t realize it, but those were the early symptoms: a dry throat and a vague headache.

The next morning when I woke up, that dry throat was now more of a frog in the throat, the headache was worse and my nose was definitely congested.

Reading this, you might think I’m overly socially active. I have to say, this short period is the most social activity I’ve had during the entire pandemic. I can't remember the last time, before this, that I went out for dinner! Mostly, I just stay home. Ask anyone I know and they will tell you I will chose the virtual meeting over in-person every time.

My husband and I had plans to leave on our first vacation since December 2019 the next day. We were going to Victoria overnight to visit friends and then to another part of Vancouver Island for a three-day getaway. It had been booked for months.

I knew I couldn’t go stay with friends if I was sick, so I went to get tested. I truly thought I was being overly cautious, which I tend to be when it comes to health. I had not been anywhere high risk. Here’s a list of my outings for the previous two weeks: the dentist, physiotherapy, massage therapy, a few outdoor walks with friends, a couple of restaurant lunches. That’s it. No crowds, no parties.

Public health didn’t try very hard to figure it out either. They just asked if I knew anyone who had COVID or if I’d been at any parties. That was it.

Another surprising thing I learned from public health is that if you live with someone who has COVID, you do not have to self-isolate, as long as you are fully vaccinated. The person who tested positive, of course, has to sequester themselves away in a separate room and bathroom, but the other residents only have to monitor themselves for symptoms. Of course, employers may have different requirements. Also, I suspect with the extra transmissibility of Omicron, this guideline may change.

My advice to you this Christmas: even if you’re feeling well, think twice about getting together. You don’t know who you might infect.

I promise updates for those who are interested. If you've got questions I haven't answered, ask away.


480 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page